CHARLOTTE — The Big South Conference announced Monday the addition of three associate members in women’s lacrosse — Furman University, Mercer University and Wofford College — effective with the 2022 season.

The three join Campbell, Gardner-Webb, High Point, Longwood, Presbyterian College, Radford and Winthrop and increase the Big South’s women’s lacrosse sponsorship to a league-high 10 programs.

The new schools previously competed in the Southern Conference, which announced it is no longer sponsoring the sport following the 2021 season. Furman was 12-5 overall last season and was the SoCon regular-season champion with a 4-0 record. Mercer was 7-8 overall (2-2 SoCon) and knocked off the Paladins 14-13 to win the SoCon Tournament. Wofford finished 2-9 (1-3 SoCon) in 2021.

Big South champ High Point University edged Mercer 13-11 last season and did not play the other two.

Mercer began women’s lacrosse in the spring of 2015, and head coach Samantha Eustace has led the program to incredible success. Over the first seven years as a program, Mercer has compiled 56 wins and was the only program to win a Southern Conference tournament championship, doing so three times. Mercer qualified for its first NCAA Tournament during the 2018 season and again in 2019. The latest tournament appearance for the Bears came during the 2021 campaign.

Furman began its women’s lacrosse program in 2015 and recently completed its seventh season of competition, all under the direction of head coach Rachel Whitten. The Paladins have compiled 68 victories, while capturing Southern Conference Regular Season Championships in 2019 and 2021.

Wofford began its women’s lacrosse program in the 2018 season.


BOONE — The High Point-Thomasville Locos tallied a combined nine runs in the seventh and eighth innings in an 11-7 win over the Boone Bigfoots Saturday night.

Eleven runs marked a season-high as HPT notched a second win in a row and improved to 2-1-1 overall.

Boone held a 5-3 advantage heading into the top of the seventh, but HPT finally exploded with a five-spot in the seventh and then four runs in the eighth, all on just five hits.

Both Jose Vargas (Catawba Valley CC) and Nick Tiller (GTCC) led the offensive charge with two hits apiece. Vargas is averaging .353 up at the plate through four contests.

Tiller finished 2-for-3 with a triple, a RBI and a run scored. Nick Leonard (Coker) also drove two Locos in as five different HPT batters recorded RBIs Saturday.

Matthew Brumley (Carolina) earned the start on the mound for HPT and tossed five innings. Josh Kent, Jackson Shore (St. Andrews), Tyler Lloyd (Barton) and Colby Roy (Roanoke) each sealed the deal in relief with one inning of work. Josh Kent was credited with the win.

The Locos will be back in action Sunday hosting the Catawba Valley Stars. First pitch from Finch Field is set for 3 p.m.


ASHEBORO — Asheboro hammered the HiToms 20-2 on Saturday.

CJ Johnson hit his first home run in Coastal League Plain action for the HiToms (3-1). Luke Spiva, singled in the first and doubled in the third, running his hitting streak to five games. Von Seibert smashed a double to left in the fourth and one batter later, the HiToms right fielder Alex Stone drove in a run.

This was the second time this year that the Asheboro Copperheads have reached 20 runs. On Opening Day, the Forest City Owls lost 20-1 to the Copperheads.

The HiToms return home to face Martinsville on Wednesday at 7:05 p.m.


HIGH POINT — Johnny VanLeuvan and Colton Sapp teamed for a three-shot victory in the Oak Hollow Open that ended Sunday.

VanLeuvan and Sapp shot 58-60 — 118 in the 36-hole, captain’s choice event. Jamie Gilley/Brant Stovall (62-59) got second place over Andrew Mespelt/Mike Gill (59-62) after they tied at 121. Harrison Frye/Ty Palmer got fourth place Bryan Colquitt/Marc Cox after they tied at 122.

Dalton Little and Hunter Chapman (64-63 — 127) were declared winners in first flight after finishing in a tie with Stephen Mabry and Jay Baity (65-62 — 127). Cody Hill/Rodney Hill got first place in second flight after tying Dave Cichowski/Steve Michaels with identical scores of 68-63 —131.

Joe Cheek and Rusty King shot 70-64 — 134 and edged Scott Shackelford/Doug Rhdoes (71-64 — 135) by a shot in third flight. Eddie Forward and Mike Conroy carded 74-70 — 144 to win fourth flight by a shot over Lee Edwards and Bambi Edwards (75-70 —145).


SNOW HILL — Davis DeLille of High Point finished in a tie for second in the TYGA Bojangles’ Junior Open that ended Sunday at Cutter Creek Golf Club.

Recovering from a first round 74, DeLille fired a 3-under-par 69 in the final round for a 1-under 143 total and tied four golfers who finished a stroke behind winner Ryan Jahr of Ocean Isle Beach. Also among those at 143 was first-round leader Calvin Hawkins, who skied from a 67 to a second-round 76.

Ethan Wooten of High Point tied for 33rd at 6-over 150 (73-77).


WINSTON-SALEM — Jonathan Brown prevailed in the season-opening 200-lap Modified feature Saturday night at Bowman Gray Stadium. It was his 19th victory in the quarter-mile track’s top division.

Former track champ Danny Bohn finished second. Pole winner Burt Myers led the first 90 laps before pitting and finished 11th. Lee Jeffreys of Wallburg was 18th.

Tommy Neal won a 40-lap Sportsman race while Mitch Gales of Thomasville finished ninth and Spencer Martin and Braden Mills of Wallburg were 14th and 15th, respectively.

Christian Joyce of Trinity finished second in a 20-lap Street Stock race won by Billy Gregg. Lexington residents Chuck Wall and Robert Strmiska won 15-lap Stadium Stock races.


ASHEBORO — Blaise Brinkley and Blake Bledsoe were the winners in a pair of 35-lap late model races Saturday night at Caraway Speedway.

Fletcher Whaley and Mike Chambers were the winners in the Challenger division. Michael Lowrey and Johnny Baker won Mini-Stock races. A.J. Briscoe and Justin Smith prevailed in the UCAR division. Cayden Lapcevich won a 602 Modified race.